TSFP10 provides the opportunity to report and find out about new discoveries and developments in fundamental and applied research on turbulence and shear flow phenomena. TSFP10 will be held at the Swissotel Chicago, an award-winning four-diamond luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, at the juncture of the Chicago River and Lake Michigan.


More about the symposia:
A historical note
List of TSFP conferences
Previous conference proceedings
The series of biennial TSFP Symposia is the principal venue for reporting and disseminating recent and ongoing research on turbulence and shear flow phenomena. Previous successful TSFP symposia were held in Santa Barbara, California (1999), Stockholm, Sweden (2001), Sendai, Japan (2003), Williamsburg, Virginia (2005), Munich, Germany (2007), Seoul, Korea (2009), Ottawa, Canada (2011), Poitiers, France (2013) and Melbourne, Australia (2015). The symposium will feature invited speakers, peer-reviewed conference proceedings and poster presentations.

TSFP10 provides the opportunity to report new discoveries and developments in the fundamental and applied research on turbulence and shear flow phenomena. Apart from traditional focal points, such as DNS, LES, turbulence closures and experiments, the organisers of TSFP10 wish to give particular emphasis to the following topics:
Instability and transition to turbulence Advanced techniques for turbulence measurements
Modelling and simulation of complex flows Turbulence and heat/mass transfer control
Turbulence in reacting and multiphase systems Plasma and MHD turbulence
Noise generation and fluid-structure interaction Biological, biomedical and clinical flows
Environmental, geophysical and compressible turbulence

TSFP Nobuhide Kasagi Award:

The TSFP Executive Committee is delighted to announce that starting with TSFP10 in Chicago, TSFP will present the Nobuhide Kasagi Award, with the following purpose: "The TSFP Nobuhide Kasagi Award will recognize excellence and innovation for early career researchers (typically < 10 years after PhD) for contributions to an area relevant to the TSFP Symposia."

For TSFP10, the award will be $2500, and the winner is expected to attend the meeting. For TSFP11 and beyond, the winner will be expected to give an invited talk, and travel and attendance reimbursement will be the same as for other invited speakers, plus $1000 for the award. Nominations will be accepted on the basis of a paragraph that indicates how the candidate meets the award criteria, including a citation, and a CV. Nominations for TSFP10 should be sent to Beverley McKeon on behalf of the Award Committee, with a deadline of March 1. The winner will be chosen by April 1.

The Award Committee consists of Arne Johansson (Chair), Jean-Paul Bonnet, John Eaton, Ellen Longmire, and Beverley McKeon.

On behalf of the Executive Committee of TSFP, we would like to ask you to nominate or encourage nominations for the Kasagi Award. We realize the deadlines are tight for this year, but we hope you can help.

Photo Credit: L: Wind Flow Photography (Wark & Nannini), C: City of Chicago, R: Vinuesa et al.